It has been a productive few weeks CNC milling new moulds including the largest one I have made to date (see press formed facetted oval salver video). I started this range of work as a project that explored the possibility of using traditional techniques to create a tool/ interface that could be used intuitively to design in computer aided design software to create new work that could not be made by hand.

I have been creating bowls and dishes as part of the process and wanted to expand my range of work. I designed a facetted vase for the Goldsmiths’ Craftsmanship & Design Awards 2012 (see September blog) and wanted to try and make it.

The model for CNC milling cannot have any under cuts or be too deep as there is a limit to the cutting depth. The vase was designed to be made in 2 halves and then press formed and soldered together. The shape was designed so only one mould needed to be made and would make the best possible use of a square piece of silver. Here is CAD image of vase.

 CAD image of facetted vase

Image by © Kathryn Hinton 2012

Images of piece to follow as its currently being hallmarked. I will also be exhibiting my new work at stand 26, week 2 of Goldsmiths’ fair, 2nd-7th October 2012.